Cash Advance Oklahoma
LEARN THE LATEST RULES AND REGULATIONS* ASSOCIATED WITH CASH ADVANCES AND PAYDAY LOANS IN Oklahoma
Oklahoma is one of the many states the U.S. that allow cash advance loans. Oklahoma’s maximum rates and fees for cash advances are comparable to other areas of the country with thriving cash advance markets. Future legislation may alter these rates, but it doesn’t look like changes are coming soon. Read on to learn about the current cash advance laws for Oklahoma. Or, to start the first step of your loan request right now, check out our secure loan request form.
Oklahoma Cash Advance Regulations
In Oklahoma, the maximum loan amount for a cash advance is $500. That’s exclusive of the finance charge. Your loan term can be up to 45 days, but not less than 12 days. The maximum finance charge is $15 for every $100 you borrow up to $300. If you borrow more than $300, there’s an additional fee of $10 for every $100 up to the $500 limit. That means if you were to take out a 14-day, $100 loan, you would at most pay a $15 finance charge. If you took out a 14-day, $400 loan, you would at most pay a $70 finance charge. You get to $70 by adding together the four $15 charges (one for every $100 borrowed), plus an extra $10 (for the fourth $100 borrowed).
You can take out up to two outstanding loans at a time in Oklahoma. You are not allowed to renew your loan. Where applicable, you can be charged a $25 NSF fee. Your lender cannot pursue criminal action against you.
Oklahoma Payday Loan Regulations
Please note that “payday loans” and “cash advances” are the same financial product. Both are terms used to describe a form of short-term lending where the borrower is expected to pay back their funding within a couple of weeks.
- How Payday Loans Work – When a customer needs money fast but doesn’t have easy access to traditional credit, one option may be taking out an easy payday loan online that’s meant to be paid back in a relatively short amount of time.
- Maximum Amount – Direct lenders may not offer a payday loan greater than $500.
- Repayment Extensions – You cannot renew your loan. If you try to take out another loan within 13 days of your original loan, it will be seen as a renewal and the state will not allow it.
Oklahoma State Economy
When you’re trying to figure out if you’ll be able to pay off a cash advance, you should factor the condition of your state economy into your decision. In May 2015, Oklahoma had a 4.3-percent unemployment rate. That’s low compared to many other states, but pretty average for Oklahoma, which has a traditionally low unemployment rate. In fact, the highest unemployment rate in Oklahoma was only 8.9-percent in April 1983.
Take the time to familiarize yourself with Oklahoma’s cash advance laws. They can help you know what to expect from your loan, since the average rates tend to be close to state limits.
*OpenCashAdvance.com strives to present accurate information on each state’s regulations; however, we do not guarantee accuracy of data as presented. Please contact your state’s department of finance or visit your state’s official website for the most accurate information and inquiries. You can find your state’s site here: www.ok.gov/okdocc