Cash Advance Indiana
Indiana’s cash advance laws look a little complicated at first, but they’re actually pretty easy to follow once you get the hang of them. We’ll clue you in on the basics so you’ll know what to expect. Just remember, for the most part, these laws define the maximums, so you won’t know the rates for your personal cash advance until you reach out to an actual lender. That being said, Indiana’s cash advance laws are actually set relatively low, so you should expect your lender to stick pretty closely to the state defined maximum rates and fees. If you’d like to get started with your loan request today, go ahead and fill out our secure loan request form.
Indiana Cash Advance Regulations
When applying for a cash advance in Indiana, you should know that the maximum loan amount is $550. You have to borrow at least $50 and the loan amount cannot exceed 20-percent of your monthly gross income. The loan term has to be at least 14 days, but there is no set limit for a maximum loan term. The maximum finance rate and fees can seem a little tricky at first. They are set at: 15-percent for loans up to $250, 13-percent for loans ranging from $251 up to $400, and 10-percent for loans ranging from $401 up to $500. That means for a 14-day, $100 loan, you’d at most pay a $15 fee. That’d be a 390-percent APR. This is relatively low for a cash advance, so you shouldn’t expect the lender to go much lower than that.
Indiana lets you take out more than one cash advance at a time – you can get up to two. They just have to be from different lenders. Although, we do not recommend taking out more than one cash advance at a time.
Remember, your lender will set the loan term. If you have not paid off your debt at the end of the term, you will not be able to extend, renew, refinance, or consolidate your loan. If you are unable to pay off your debt, your lender is allowed to charge you a $25 NSF fee. Your lender is not allowed to pursue criminal action against you.
Indiana Payday Loan Regulations
If you know the state laws associated with cash advances, then you already know the Indiana payday loan rules. Both of these products are regulated the same – or, the state provides rules for short-term, small-dollar lending, and the rules apply to any loan that fits that definition.
- How Payday Loans Work – When you need money right away, one option might be to borrow against your future income. With this kind of funding, the lender will automatically deduct the loan and fees from your account on a specified due date.
- Maximum Amount – State law allows up to $550, but you cannot borrow more than 20 percent of your monthly gross income.
- Repayment Extensions – These are not allowed in the state.
Indiana State Economy
In May 2015, the unemployment rate in Indiana was 5.1-percent. That’s quite a bit lower than the state high, which was 12.6-percent back in December 1982. The all-time low was a small 2.9-percent back in October 2000.
Have any more questions about Indiana cash advance state laws and regulations? You can always email us, or contact your lender.
Requesting Title Loans in Indiana
When qualifying for a payday loan is difficult, borrowers turn to title loans. Title loans are loans that require an asset to be used as collateral. Residents in Indiana who are seeking an alternative loan service may turn to title loans to pay off their debts and urgent bills they may have.
Title loans are popular among borrowers because their credit score may not be integral to the application process, and loans can be approved for amounts as low as $1,000. Car title loans are the most common forms of title loans. Borrowers use their cars as collateral in order to qualify for a loan. Some lenders may offer car title loans if the borrower has equity in the vehicle. These types of loans last between fifteen to thirty days and have an annual percentage rate (APR) over 100%, which is higher than most forms of credit.
Title Loans Laws in Indiana
Auto title loans in Indiana are against the law, due to the high-interest rates which often accompany this type of loan. With the high APR and additional costs and charges, borrowers may find themselves in a never-ending cycle of debt as they cannot pay off the loan.
If you default on your loan, the lender has the right to repossess your vehicle and sell it to cover your debt. There may also be additional late fees charged to your account, so it is best to work out a payment plan between you and your lender in order to pay back your loans on time. Be sure to look over your loan contract and read through the fine print, as there may be extra charges and fees you are not aware of.
*OpenCashAdvance.com strives to present accurate information on each state’s regulations; however, we do not guarantee accuracy of data as presented. Please contact your state’s department of finance or visit your state’s official website for the most accurate information and inquiries. You can find your state’s site here: www.in.gov/dfi